Happy Simply Lovingly Looking for a School…

Please see below a cascade of information that I have made for a school newsletter. The idea for Happy Simply is to incorporate a school in the organising, building, maintaining and education of the project – hence a life model and education project…

This is pitched at the Te Ra Waldorf School on the Kapati Coast (north of Wellington) but really the idea could be for anywhere… Any takers?!

The snapshot little newsletter spot:

Happy Simply wanting input from Te Ra School and Community

Happy Simply – sustainable lifestyle model and education project. Debt free – healthy, happy and with lots of friends. Where the best things in life are not things. You get it…

Importantly I want to include the community and especially a school in the planning, building and management of this project, offering a great learning experience.

I would love to hear from the Te Ra community so please let me know your thoughts – darcy@globalpovertyproject.com. I have a more detailed proposal if you wish to see.

For reference please see my blog: https://happysimply.wordpress.com .

Many Thanks, d’Arcy.

Education – for us all!

The middle-sized newsletter piece:

Happy Simply wanting input from Te Ra School and Community

Happy Simply – sustainable lifestyle model and education project. Debt free – healthy, happy and with lots of friends. Where the best things in life are not things. You get it…

The idea is a living model where just enough is plenty and being an active, engaged and happy citizen. Specifically the holistic approach to this life model would include: a simple dwelling (10m²); renewable energy source; bio-compostable toilet; rainwater capture; edible garden; transport – cycling and public transport (train to Wellington); and volunteering in the local community.

Importantly I want to include the community and especially a school in the planning, building and management of this project, offering a great learning experience.

So… what I am looking for from the Te Ra Waldorf School community is:

  • consent, inclusion and shared ownership of this idea and project
  • possibly land to house the project – 50-100m² and best if near the school, Paekakariki or within 3km of a train station on the Kapati Coast
  • possible contacts and information on each of the components of the project – housing, food, transport, volunteering, etc
  • thoughts, ideas, suggestions and feedback!

I am happy to finance this project as much as it needs but any in-kind support would be greatly appreciated. I will be back in Aotearoa New Zealand in January till April and would love to turn this opportunity into a reality. Once functional it would be an open door policy and as a teacher I’m passionate to share the model far and wide.

I would love to hear from the Te Ra community so please let me know your thoughts – darcy@globalpovertyproject.com. I have a more detailed proposal if you wish to see.

For reference please see my blog: https://happysimply.wordpress.com or my other blog including my time here currently in Pakistan – learning and advocating about the culture and life in positive way: http://lunny06.wordpress.com.

Many Thanks, d’Arcy.

Friend family community – easy to feel rich in life!

And finally the full-page detailed article!

Happy Simply wanting input from Te Ra School and Community

Happy Simply – sustainable lifestyle model and education project. Debt free – healthy, happy and with lots of friends. Where the best things in life are not things. You get it…

The idea is a living model where just enough is plenty and being an active, engaged and happy citizen. Specifically the holistic approach to this life model would include:

  • a 10m² house from recycled materials with the SHAC (Sustainable HAbitat Challenge) not-for-profit org, based in NZ – http://www.shac.org.nz/
  • renewable energy source, bio-compostable toilet, rainwater capture – off all grids
  • edible organic garden for as much food needs as possible 10-15 m²
  • transport – cycling and public transport (train to Wellington)
  • volunteering in the local community

This is not really something new or that unique and it is not for everyone to take on everything in the model. What I hope to do is show others what is possible and offer any of the components that can be integrated into their daily lives.

Importantly I want to include the community and especially a school and students in the planning, developing, building and management of this project. I know it will offer a great learning experience and then become a part of the community.

So… what I am looking for from the Te Ra Waldorf School community is:

  • consent, inclusion and shared ownership of this idea and project
  • possibly land to house the project – 50-100m² and best if near the school, Paekakariki or within 3km of a train station on the Kapati Coast
  • possible contacts and information on each of the components of the project – housing, food, transport, volunteering, etc
  • thoughts, ideas, suggestions and feedback!

Who the hell am I?

I’m a teacher and perpetual volunteer. I work for environmental, global and social justice as an educator, presenter, advocate and learner. I want to not only work in this field but live it full-time. In over 11 years and 58 countries of experiences I’ve never been to spot more suitable to offer this project than the Kapati Coast of Aotearoa New Zealand.

I am happy to finance as much as is needed for this project but ideally it would be great to have in-kind support where possible. I would plan to live in the dwelling and live the model life however I’m only around 2-10 months of the year at the moment while I work in international aid and development (currently writing to you from Pakistan on polio eradication advocacy work). It would always be an open door policy and as a teacher I am passionate to share the learning that comes from the process and the final product.

I would love to hear from the Te Ra community so please let me know your thoughts – darcy@globalpovertyproject.com.

For reference please see my blog: https://happysimply.wordpress.com or my personal blog including my time here in Pakistan – http://lunny06.wordpress.com. I will be back in Aotearoa New Zealand from January to April next year and would love to turn this opportunity into a reality.

Many Thanks

d’Arcy.

Participation is Education!

One thought on “Happy Simply Lovingly Looking for a School…

  1. BTW folks if anyone wants to use this concept – PLEASE DO! I would love to see this idea become the new, very common, edible garden in schools… Share away as you wish and let me know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

